If I Was a Doctor

If I was a doctor, I would have little to say.
I would get up in the morning, and go to bed end day.
I would stare at my patients, solemn and grey.
Dreaming of people, not lying in graves.

I would think of the deaths, and think of my tools.
I would think of my white coat, and think of the rules.
I would hang up my heart, and put on my scrubs.
I would splash on cold water, and snap on my gloves.

If I was a doctor, I would cut open human beings.
I would soak myself in blood, and hold their hearts beating.
I would go in more deeply than any lover could.
I could steal your heart, but steal it for good.

If I was a doctor, I would have more anger than not.
I would tire over people, and try to play God.
I would sigh for the nurses, sigh for the grieving.
And after I called it, continue my breathing.

If I was a doctor, I would remind myself of a machine.
A pale little robot, practicing techniques.
I would think of my hands, and think of my eyes.
So human in nature, yet never shaking and never cry.

I would think of the woods, and think of the trees.
I would think of mountains, and all living things.
I would look up to heaven, or whatever is above my head.
And say, “Why so quiet? Your people are dead.”

2 comments

  • The last two lines are the sentiment that chill my bones: “I would look up to heaven, or whatever is above my head. / And say, “Why so quiet? Your people are dead.”” Intriguing how the sky is in ownership of the Earth (physical bodies) — but could this be spiritual or simply more of the physical existence? The second to last line suggests that even the speaker himself has no knowledge of how to answer this question.

    Liked by 1 person

Submit a comment